HOD's Statement

The Department of Public Administration and Local Government, University of Nigeria, Nsukka started as a centre created by the Federal Government for the training of low and middle level manpower for the third tier of government – the Local government, in 1979. The programme saw to the emergence of highly professionalized career officials at the Local Government level. The catchment States covered by the Department are Abia, Akwa-Ibom, Anambra, Bayelsa, Benue, Cross River, Ebonyi, Enugu, Kogi Imo and Rivers.
Now a full-fledged Department, it offers the following programmes:

Brief History

The Faculty of Arts is one of the first four foundation faculties of the University of Nigeria, Nsukka which commenced academic activities in 1960 with six departments. Two of these – English and History – became the core departments of the Faculty of Arts when the institution grouped its academic units into faculties. The creation of the faculty in 1960 was in line with one of the four factors which formed the background of the philosophy founding the University.

Contact Us

Call us


Contact us